Earned Sick and Safe Time

Minnesota
State: Minnesota
Subject: Paid Sick Days, Domestic Violence and the Workplace
Bill: HF 549/SF 481
Introduced in both chambers; referred to House Committee on Commerce and Regulatory Reform: 02/02/15
Referred to Senate Committee on Jobs, Agriculture and Rural Development: 02/09/15
Summary:

Requires employers of all sizes to provide earned sick and safe time to employees who have performed at least 680 hours of work or have worked for that employer for at least 17 weeks. Leave shall accrue at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked, up to 40 hours for employers with fewer than 21 employees, and up to 72 hours for all other employers.

Leave can be taken for the employee's own illness, injury, health condition, medical diagnosis, care, treatment or preventive care, or for those of a spouse, child, legal ward, regular member of the employee's household, parent, sibling, grandchild, parent-in-law, or grandparent. Leave may also be taken for the employee or family member to obtain services to address the psychological, physical or legal effects of domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking, or for certain reasons related to a public health emergency.

The law does not apply to independent contractors.

Entry updated as of: February 18, 2015.
Work & Family Policy Database Home
This database provides short summaries of bills and statutes. The summaries are not intended to constitute legal advice. To find out how laws relate to your particular situation, you must contact a lawyer who specializes in employees’ rights, the Labor Department's Wage and Hour Division (1-866-4USWAGE), your state labor department and/or your union.